Posted in Rootwork

Removed and Miseducated

I was in the store this morning, and the Black woman at the register asked me what I was going to do with all that Epsom Salt, I told her that I was a Rootworker, and that I made Spritual Baths. She said, “oh you practice Voodoo.” I explained that there were aspects of Rootwork in Voodoo, but I was a Haitian Vodouisant and a Christian.

She almost FELL OUT. “Oh no. Ain’t no Vodou have nothing to do with being a Christian.”

Hahahahaha! I WENT IN. I asked her if she knew about God’s wife and the stories of the Bible that were either removed or the stories that are blatantly ripped off from other religions. I told her that Joseph was a diviner and Moses was a Conjureman. I asked her, “didn’t Moses make the rivers run blood and got water from a rock?”

Her response, “well God did that through him!”

I asked her, “well who do you think I am working for?” I asked her about all those people hopping around the church with the “Holy Spirit.”

She said, “what you don’t believe in the Holy Spirit?”

I told her of course I did. The Holy Spirit is THE GOD IN ME. It’s what gives me the ability to do God’s work, AND those people who are dancing “in the spirit,” were possessed with a spirit alright.

They just don’t know which one mounted them.

She said, “you make that sound like a bad thing.”

I told her, “sometimes it is, sometimes it isn’t. Isn’t it funny though that no one is translating what these people are saying? At a Vodou Fet, someone can always translate what a spirit says.”

Then I came home and began my workday. I was compelled to write this blog post after Facebook friend tagged me in comment in a video this morning. I believe there are no coincidences in life. I was asking Sprint if it was a good idea to share this morning’s experiences with you. I believe I got my answer in this video. (Author’s Note: I’ve asked the poster for a YouTube link so I can embed it here in case Facebook takes it down.)

You can watch it here:

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=949107848457166&fref=nf

A great deal of the things in the video I know about, and some points here merit further research. Remember, no matter how accurate something is, just a little bit of bias can destroy credibility. However, I can research every single part of this video piece by piece. I have a feeling that the majority of it can be validated. I do this because am fascinated with the religions of the world, their similarities, and their differences. But what I know is this.

Most people, not just Black people, are willing to take their religion as it is spoon-fed to them. They are willing to listen to the preacher every Sunday, read the most revised, missing books versions of the Bible, and make judgments on people like me, who identify as Christians who don’t worship like them.

I’ve even had family members tell me that they would not come to my house because I have altars. OH WELL, stay home then! Bye, Felicia! I mean really, I am NOT going to compromise my spiritual beliefs and enlightenment for you any more than you will do it for me.

But we are LOST when it comes to religion all over the world. Religion has been used as a killing and slavery machine. It is used to judge and persecute people. None of the so-called Christians who vilify African Diasporic Religion, and the people who follow them, are listening to Jesus because I swore that he told us…

So when they continued asking him, he lifted up himself, and said unto them, He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her. John 8:7

With a whole world of information at the tip of our fingers, people are content to live in their ignorance and judgment. The world and its gods are much bigger than anyone can imagine. And that is just Earth. Let’s not even try to contemplate the universe.

Y’all better tell somebody.

Liz

Author:

Blitch, Conjure Woman, Hoodoo Practitioner, Vodouisant, Spiritual Advisor, Diviner, Mother, Writer, & Photographer

4 thoughts on “Removed and Miseducated

  1. Amen sister. And you know I do not say that easily since
    I am not christian any longer

    But religion is what is hindering spirituality.

    Our son no longer think he is christian because he does
    Not want the religion part. But I told him ,pagan that
    I am, that if he still believes in Jesus or Joshua, he is.
    Mans religion has nothing to do with it. He said he would
    Hve to think about it.

    I watch the show bible secrets also. And the books and
    Misinterpretations are so rampant.

    The other night they talked about revelations and the number
    666 which might be 616 instead. Hubby and I just sat
    There saying yes yes, that it was about time
    Scholars figured this out.

    Of course I also sit there many times laughing at how
    Pagan some of it is and how the far right
    Evangelicals do not even realize it. Lol.

    Good to read your blog. And so. Nice to have
    Met you sister

    Mary lou oxley

  2. That link is amazing. Againana I sat here saying yes yes yes. So much of that
    I had been trying to tell ourchristr and husband
    When they got upset with me last year.

    Even as a white woman, I realize the truth.
    Our dna all leads back to an african woman so of course
    Relious, spirituality spread from there.

    Knew christ was a title and also about.most of the rest

    But only my hubby will listen. Now he does prefer
    To believe in what he was taught to a degree
    But realises how it has been twisted from what
    The original message was. He is working
    His way through it all as each one of us need.

    So thank you so much for that link. It gives me
    Heart to continue to believe in the future and to me
    Your blog and that link is my 2nd great grandmother
    Who was african and from yoruba (this she told me while in
    A trance) reaching out to me. And I hear her loud
    And clear

Leave a Reply

